Moving Meditation

2

August 22, 2012 by Lisa RunFastMama

I saw those two words yesterday and they pretty much summed it up for me.

Sure, running is a challenge both mentally and physically.  It is a rush to cross the finish line, build a collection of awesome medals, and travel to some pretty great places.  It is a catalyst for meeting new people with the same dreams and goals. It is a push to improve myself and see just what my body can do.

I’m sure it would not be a surprise to many of you for me to say I am a total Type A.

I love to be in charge, in control.

There are a lot of things I can not control with running sometimes, and that is ok.

Running does something to me, it lets my mind go.

 I run without any sort of stimulus, it is a chance to be free from electronics, people (well yea, group runs are exception) and just focus inward and let my mind go where it wants to go.  Sometimes it goes to issues I am thinking about ,and other times it just repeats silly things over and over until it moves to the next thing to think about.

So peaceful, just to give up that lack of control in my mind, disconnect from the world for a while and listen to my body.

Moving meditation, makes the rest of my day much more peaceful as well.

What is running to you?

2 thoughts on “Moving Meditation

  1. gina33runnersky says:

    Running to me is freedom. When I am running and feeling the strength of my body that I could keep going forever, I feel like I am powerful and magic seems real.

Leave a Reply

Join 1,552 other followers

