Things I learned from my longest run yet

5

September 15, 2012 by Lisa RunFastMama

Just completed my longest run for preparation to run the Chicago Marathon, October 7th and wanted to share and document what I learned bright and early this morning.

  1. I’m Crazy – I just ran a total distance of 20 miles in a 1 sq. mile area…. Yep, through one subdivision, into another, down that side street, round the court-yard – kinda like a running hoedown. Follow your Garmin round and round, lol. 
  2. EAT before I leave for a long run!!! DUH!  No clue what I was thinking this morning.  What I should have happened is I should have gotten out of bed, traipsed to the kitchen and had some yogurt and protein powder.  Then, proceed to the bathroom to get ready to run.  No clue why that didn’t happen this am, I did have my mixture with me, but was not enough come mile 15 when I was really feeling it.
  3. The lids on my Amphipod hydration belt really aren’t snapped when I think they are.  I need to make sure that the top of the sippy thing is FLUSH with the stopper.  Once I hit mile 2, I walked and took in some of my water, honey, molasses and salt mixture.  Put the bottle back in place and all was well until I started running and felt some of the nice, sticky mixture splash down my leg and on my calf.  Instinctively, I reached for it and ended up with a sticky hand.  Round and round back to the house to use the hose to rinse bottle and hand off.  I didn’t bother with my calve as it was still dark and didn’t want my foot and shoe all wet.   Also, after putting the bottles back in the belt I need to keep my hand there for a few seconds to ensure they are properly locked in place… nothing like loosing a bottle!

    Mine doesn’t have the little pouch, just bottles 😉

  4. Pace – I need to make sure that I am running in the 10-12 min/mile range and WALK for 1 minute at every mile.  I didn’t take long enough walk breaks right off the bat, well it was really dark and hard to see the Garmin.  Caught up with me at mile 8-9 when I started feeling sore.
  5. If you stop home to refuel, go potty or whatever else, try not to time it when kids are just getting up.  Starving after mile 15, I headed home (not too hard to do  – refer to lesson 1) to take a quick break and get some protein powder.  At this point I was tired, achy and just wanted to go potty, drink some protein powder and water and slather my legs with gobs of Biofreeze.  I opened the door to my two kids, still in PJs  saying they were starving.  Also, heard sounds of Hubby yawning loudly in other room.  Revised plan, put some organic waffles in toaster, have protein powder, go to bathroom, lather with Biofreeze and drop gobs of it on our nice bathroom rug, roll up rug so Hubby does not step on something slimy early in the am, wash hands so I don’t poison kids or get some Biofreeze in my eye, use forks to get waffles out of toaster, put syrup on, put shoes back on and head out to finish last 4.
  6. I can have protein powder at mile 16 and not suffer any stomach distress of any kind!  Actually, it worked out rather well and will probably incorporate this in a water stop or two at Chicago.
  7. I’m pretty darn consistent in my pace, this is a good thing!

    10:55 not a bad average pace for 20 – should be able to do Chicago in under 5

  8. I did it, I can run 20 miles and mentally, I feel great going into Chicago – just need to rest the legs.  Also need to start that work out plan that I have been talking about, slowly of course 🙂

    After my 20 miler! #PROOF I ROCKED IT!
    Have a great day, get out there and #MOVE and #SweatPink !!!

5 thoughts on “Things I learned from my longest run yet

  1. kmtreat says:

    You are awesome. Good for you!

  2. jenna says:

    great job with the 20! man, oh man! you sure are a rockstar! i mean you even fed your family in the process! haha. talk about wearing two hats! great job with your running duties and your mommy duties! spa love to ya!!

  3. Hello Lisa,
    Just a quick message to ask if you would be interested in a ‘mutual’ following on twitter. I am currently following you now and am awaiting for your follow-back. (#FYI I do RT’s ‘anytime’ for all #Triathletes #Cyclists #UltraRunners & #Marathoners who follow me on Twitter and have something ‘important’ they want mentioned…)

    All the very best to you and yours for the rest of 2012 and beyond Lisa. Look forward to hearing from you…

    Darin
    twitter.com/DarinArmstrong
    #TeamLIVESTRONG

  4. Wow, that’s impressive!! I did my longest run today, 13 miles. Preparing for my first Half next weekend. Glad I found your blog!

  5. Carrie says:

    Congrats on hitting the 20 mile mark! That’s huge for marathon training, both mentally and physically. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

Join 1,552 other followers

