Travels to Frankfurt and Schwalbach – Day 1

4

September 18, 2012 by Lisa RunFastMama

On Sunday, I began my journey to Germany. It is my first time, besides a layover, so I am excited to explore this gorgeous country.

As I waited to board the plane from DTW to Charlotte, I walked around the airport looking for something, anything I could eat. I ended up with 2 bottles of Fiji water and some trashy mags to read. As I settled in to wait to board, I kept hearing a clicking noise. I looked up to see a man wearing a Casio calculator watch tapping away on his phone – really,there are settings to shut that sound off. Kinda funny, wondering the need for the calculator watch when his phone surely had more capability.

None the less, had an uneventful flight to Charlotte where I roamed the airport again, in search of real food. Turned up empty again besides the Peeled Fruit Apple Snacks I found at Starbucks. Bought 6 packs (seriously, nice to have with me) and then asked kindly for a bowl of hot water and a spoon. I sat down for a bit and had my oatmeal, freeze-dried raspberries and protein powder with a pack of peeled snacks. One weird thing about the Charlotte airport was they had restroom attendants – um really, no need to guide me to a stall and no, I’m not going to open my purse and risk everything getting out-of-order to give you a dollar for doing it. I digress.

I didn’t sleep at all on the flight to Frankfurt, and passed my time watching Real Housewives of NJ and OC on my iPad. I don’t watch that cr*p at home because it’s not appropriate for kids to hear, so when I fly international it is like a marathon of episodes for me. I finally shut it off for a bit around 1am, but a guy in the row behind me was snoring like he was going to choke every now and then and it kept startling me. I probably had my eyes closed for an hour and a half, but finally waved the white flag and watched the iPad again.

As soon as I got off the plane I saw a food stand called Natural, right before customs! They had Orange Juice with just ORANGES! Imagine that, no corny vitamins added! I bought 2 bottles and drank them right away. Even though I snacked on the plane, I was still hungry.

I decided to head to the hotel to try to get some sleep and managed to sleep for about an hour. The Dorint hotel is very nice! Check out these modern rooms!

20120917-223215.jpg20120917-223256.jpg

Got up, had some sunflower butter on rice cakes that I brought from home, freshened up and headed to work. Managed to get a few things done and started some discussions. My company’s buildings have some beautiful views of downtown Frankfurt.

20120917-223237.jpg

After work, my colleagues and I headed into downtown Frankfurt for dinner.  We arrived early and got a chance to walk around a lovely center part of town that had stores on each side of the paved, cobblestone center and was closed to vehicle traffic.  There were all sorts of restaurants and shops.

20120917-223319.jpg

I loved the look of the butcher shop above!  There were three or four of these types of shops in less than a quarter-mile walk.

Frankfurt Old Opera House is shown below.  It was largely destroyed during WWII and finally rebuilt in 1981.20120917-223333.jpg

20120917-223417.jpg

Interesting statue outside a restaurant.  I’m sure this is a prime location for many tourist pictures from Frankfurt!20120917-223353.jpg

20120917-223417.jpg

After our walk, we met our other colleagues at a restaurant called Urban Kitchen.  The restaurant had everything from Pizza to seaweed salad.  I got an order of roasted potatoes and a salad with lettuce, tomatoes, sautéed mushrooms and EVOO.  It was so nice to actually have some warm food after a day of traveling.20120917-223434.jpg

We got back to the hotel around 10pm and I fell fast asleep!

4 thoughts on “Travels to Frankfurt and Schwalbach – Day 1

  1. Sounds like you’re having a great trip! What’s their weather like right now? That statue is…interesting! Great pics!

    • RunFastMama says:

      The weather is nice, in the 70s. Been stuck in the office and car all day today. Made it to Regensburg ;). Thanks for everyone’s comments! Nice to know people are reading 😉

  2. Carrie says:

    Any Real Housewives are a guilty pleasure of mine, too. It’s always a pleasant surprise to stumble upon a marathon. Great pictures! 🙂

  3. kmtreat says:

    Thank you for sharing such beautiful pictures and your story of what is happening. P.S. Glad you were able to find food. I know that kind of challenge.

Leave a Reply

Join 1,552 other followers

