Chicago Marathon Weekend, Arrival Day & Expo

3

October 6, 2012 by Lisa RunFastMama

We woke bright and early Friday morning and started our drive to Chicago at 6 am. I’ve learned my lesson in the past on this one. My husband owns his own business, so I either have us leave early or fly out. Otherwise, our 1pm departure could turn into 4 or 5 pm. That doesn’t make for a happy Mama. Especially when I take a vacation day from work.

We had an easy drive in, and traffic was light. It actually went by pretty quick. As we got closer to the city and saw the marvelous skyline, we were all pretty excited!

20121006-073159.jpg

20121006-073237.jpg
We arrived at the Hyatt around 10am and were able to check in to our room right away. After getting situated, we walked next door to the expo so I could get all my race goodies.

20121006-073606.jpg
I had to take a picture at the entrance. It was not crowded at all when we entered.

20121006-073647.jpg
All of the bibs were divided by numbers, and getting mine was as easy a walking up to the 18000 section and presenting the back page of the participant guide that was mailed to my home.

I got my bib and my ticket for the BABLO hospitality tent, and we proceeded though the D-Tag validation and out into the expo.

The expo was huge, but nicely laid out, with really wide isles.

20121006-074258.jpg
As soon as we entered though, another photo op arose.

20121006-074341.jpg
Nike had a huge display of Chicago apparel as did New Balance, Mizuno, Saucony, North Face, Newton and more. My favorite, Brooks Running, had an a giant bowl of spaghetti that you could go in and get a free gait analysis as well as a meatball. Too cute! Note the guy playing the accordion too.

20121006-074744.jpg
I ended up with a Pandora style charm for Chicago, a 26.2 sticker, and a travel foam roller. I managed to pack our coffee maker, winter coats and all, but forgot my foam roller.

Of course, we had to stop by the RunDisney booth to oogle our next medals and took a look at some of the other Marathon bling on display too. The best bling I saw was the medal for Sunday!

20121006-075035.jpg
I have been wondering what it looked like and was so excited to see one before the race!

There were a few signs, and t-shirts too that gave us a good laugh!

20121006-075353.jpg

20121006-075456.jpg
We headed back to the Hyatt for lunch.

20121006-075135.jpg
Where I had an incredible Niman ranch flank steak salad. After dropping off our race goodies, we took a cab into the city to explore an had a relaxing evening at the hotel.

3 thoughts on “Chicago Marathon Weekend, Arrival Day & Expo

  1. TNT Coach Ken says:

    Good thinking about leaving on Friday! You get to enjoy and relax.

    • RunFastMama says:

      Yep! All relaxed since I got my marathon stuff already, heading into the city today for a bit and getting everything laid out for morning! Had a dream I was late to some race in the country as I was trying to pin lined school paper behind my bib???!!!!!

  2. kmtreat says:

    Have a good run. Looking forward to hearing about it.

Leave a Reply

Join 1,552 other followers

