Believe I Am – #SistersInSport – Power of Positive

1

October 16, 2012 by Lisa RunFastMama

Words are powerful.  Looking at the above picture, there is no clue I am injured except for the small, hard to read cursive note in the lower right.  Thoughts and beliefs are even more powerful, and can make or break you.

When I was crossing that finish line, my sprained right foot was the furthest thing from my mind.  I was Strong, Determined, Motivated, Fit, Positive and a Marathoner!  Had I focused on  the negative, I might have not crossed the finish.

Long, long ago, my Mom taught me the mental game of visualization.  It is a positive thing. We used to practice before I went to bed.  I would lay there and she would tell me to focus on a part of my body and imagine it relaxed, we would do this from head to toe.

There is an incredibly strong connection between mind and body.  I have said before that your body can be prepared and strong, but mental power is a huge percent of the game.  Last summer I had issues even running a mile, by sticking to my goals and keeping focused, I accomplished a marathon.  I believed I could do it.  Well, 90% of the time I did.

I went through a week or so during taper doubting myself.  How in the world could I run 26.2.  Sure, I ran 20 but that extra 6.2… Come on.  I spoke to a few Marathoners and the key theme was Believe.

Belief is something that you are not born with.  It is something that always must be nurtured, practiced and earned.  In this harsh world we live in, we must fight the negatives and focus on the positives.  The practice of visualization and developing a positive believe system is something that is taught to pro athletes to help them succeed.

USA 5k Champion Lauren Fleshman and Irish Olympian Róisín McGettigan became friends back in 2003 and wanted to find a way to bring the sports technology techniques used by pro athletes to help women succeed in life and in sport.  Believe I Am was born and they designed some beautiful apparel around a set of “visual” cues to help women all over the world believe, and therefore succeed.  In addition to apparel, they created the B.I.A. Journal.

I am so excited that I was asked to participate in The Believe I am “Sisters In Sport” (#BelieveIAm #SistersInSport) blog community!  This is a network of women bloggers who also happen to be athletes as well.  We are represent sports such as running, weightlifting, yoga, cross fit and more.  We will support each other as “Sisters in Sport” as we work towards setting goals and sharing these goals, as well as the progress towards them, with each other, and our readers.

As part of this community I will be receiving a beautiful journal like the one pictured below!  I am a journal freak!  I love to write and to document.  Even with all this electronic tracking, I still keep a running journal that is hand written.  Problem is, it is just a monthly calendar view with only enough room for my mileage and maybe one to two words.  No documenting of goals, no room for notes, dreams or beliefs.

This is the journal of my dreams!  From a beautiful hard wood cover, the real details inside are all hand illustrated, written and published by Lauren and Ro!

This is just the place to record my journey to my next big goal – Completing the Goofy Challenge at Walt Disney World in 2013.  I’m also going to throw in a second goal as well.  You can see that just as soon as I get this in my hands and sit down to let my creativity flow to document the path to my goals.

For now, here are a few shots of the Believe I Am Journal.  Stay tuned for much more!


 

Now, please note I do need to say this is MY experience with finishing a race while injured.  Not reccomended or condoned, but where I was at that time, I slowed my pace and knew I was not risking a break, or worse, to my foot.  This is not to be taken as advice in any way, shape or form to do what I did.  Legal disclamer is done, my experience, my life, seek prompt medical attention based on your situation.

One thought on “Believe I Am – #SistersInSport – Power of Positive

  1. Christine says:

    LOVE the journal!! I need to check it out 🙂 Looking forward to read about your training for Goofy! I’m planning on doing it in 2014!!

Leave a Reply

Join 1,552 other followers

